Learning More about Exercising

I will be the first to tell you that I am learning as I go.  Some days, I think I understand everything, and then things come at me and I realize that I have a long way to go.  Some things may be basic knowledge to some people when it comes to exercise, but honestly, I am just learning a lot of stuff that I wish I knew a long time ago.  Perhaps I had been told and it just didn’t sink in, but okay, here I am, a beginner, putting my lack of knowledge out there and hopefully helping others learn as I learn.

In my appointment with the exercise guy today, we talked a lot about the exercises I am doing already which is mostly walking and swimming.  In talking about walking, he asked me if I am tracking my steps.  I didn’t even think about it honestly.  I have been going for walks around the neighborhood.  I have some short walks and some long walks.  I have some times where I stroll, smell the roses, chill out, and take breaks, etc., and other walks which are brisk and lengthy.

So, here is what I learned:

Walking under 5,000 steps per day is considered sedentary.
Walking 5,000 to 7,500 steps per day is considered light activity.
Walking 7,500 to 9,999 steps per day is considered moderate activity.
Walking 10,000 steps or more per day is considered high activity.

Exercise, to actually be considered exercise, should be a continuous effort for more than ten minutes. (Ugh, those strolls may need to be pumped up a bit.)

We also spoke about protein intake.  I am supposed to eat about 100 grams of protein a day and drink 80 or more ounces of water.  Eating the protein helps spare the muscles from being lost, and exercise helps maximize fat loss.  Eating too much protein will tend to store it in the body as fat, so I should stay within my doctor set limits.

Lastly, he wants me to ensure that I am exercising at least 3 days a week for a minimum of at least 90 minutes of overall exercise.

So, I will be upping my exercise regimen and we shall see how I do.

Life is all about learning and being okay with perhaps saying that you don’t know the first thing about something even if you think you should know about it already.  Knowledge is power.  This is my first step in putting my foot forward to a new me.

Leave a Reply

